FAQ

Byadmin

At Hi Cascade, we want to make sure our customers are informed with the latest and most accurate information regarding cannabis laws.

How OMMP Started:

The Oregon Medical Marijuana Program (OMMP) was enacted in 1998 to provide an alternative to prescription medications for terminally and chronically ill patients with certain qualifying conditions in the state of Oregon. Medical Marijuana (MMJ) has been medically and scientifically proven to benefit patients with a wide variety of symptoms, and ongoing research is being done into other benefits as well.

Before the enactment of Oregon’s dispensary law, patients were required to either grow their own MMJ, or designate a grower to grow it for them at no cost. For many patients this was a problem, since they either didn’t know how, or were physically unable to grow it themselves. Finding someone to grow their medication for free turned out to be a problem for many patients as well. This forced many patients to seek their medication illegally, and they could not be sure that their medicine was actually safe.

Beginning March 1, 2014, Oregon enacted the dispensary program which allows facilities to sell MMJ and products infused with MMJ to legal Oregon cardholders. This gave card-holding patients a place to get safe, tested, legal medicine. These facilities, known as dispensaries, must be licensed through the Oregon Health Authority and follow strict laws, rules, and regulations in order to operate. Dispensaries allow for patients and their caregivers to purchase medicine safely and conveniently. Dispensaries also give patients the ability know exactly what they are buying, and what each particular type of  MMJ product is designed to treat. Dispensaries have helped very sick people to live with a better quality of life.

As of October 1st, 2015 recreational customers are now welcome! But what does that mean, for them, and for our existing and new medicinal customers? We’re here to help you figure that out, and get the best experience either way.

What Is Recreational?

If you’re 21 and older and have a valid government-issued ID, you can buy cannabis here.  But, you can’t just waltz in here and buy everything, as much as we would like you to be able to.

Recreational sales, for now, are limited to 7 grams – a quarter-ounce – of marijuana flowers, buds or leaves per day (including pre-roll joints!).

What Is Considered Medicinal?

The experience for our medicinal customers will remain mostly the same – but better!  But, basically, you’ll be able to come, get the same marijuana products you always did, tax-free, as long as you can show your OMMP card and photo ID.

 

Where will the tax money go?

According to Measure 91, the law that made recreational marijuana usage and sales legal in Oregon, the tax revenue collected from recreational sales will be divided up in the following ways:

40 percent to the Common School Fund
20 percent to the Mental Health Alcoholism and Drug Services
15 percent to the Oregon State Police
10 percent to cities for enforcement of the measure
10 percent to counties for enforcement of the measure
5 percent to the Oregon Health Authority for alcohol and drug abuse prevention
Pettinger noted that while the tax revenues will be spread throughout the state, counties and cities that opt out of sales will not receive a share of the tax revenue.